A Pilgrimage to Jordan

“Then Jesus came from Galilee to the Jordan to John, to be baptized by him.”

Over the next ten days I’ll be posting from holy sites throughout Jordan as I travel with a group of Christian journalists and bloggers, courtesy of the Jordan Tourism Board of North America. We’ll visit Amman, Jerash, Madaba, Mt. Nebo, Bethany Beyond the Jordan, Petra, Wadi Rum, and Mukawir. The baptismal site of Jesus, the place where Moses stood to behold the promised land, some of the cities of the Decapolis, the site where Jesus exorcised the Gerasene demons, the enigmatic Copper Scroll from the Dead Sea Scrolls, early Christian churches, and other locations are all part of the itinerary. It’s an unbelievable opportunity and I plan to share what I can when I can from the road. 

The easiest way for me to do quick posts and photos that populate across social media is through Tumblr, which will then send it to the Wonderful Things blog, Twitter, and Facebook. You can follow me at any of those places to see updates and look for the shared hashtag #HolyJordan.

Longer pieces will appear at my blog at the National Catholic Register, and will also be linked here. 

Please pray for safe travels for all the pilgrims and, as always, for peace in the Holy Land.